Daily Writing Assignment, 4-29-22

Date 4/29/22.

The addicts’ log. Second day of the blog’s Ninety in Ninety “challenge.”

Yesterday’s update: I prayed at night, but I didn’t reach out to another addict, and I didn’t go to a meeting. That will change today. I’ve finally returned home after surgery, and though I love my friend who was my driver and caretaker, being away from tons of alcohol is a relief. I have a redemption complex, and so I will go to an extra meetings today to make up for yesterday.

1. Pray to your HP every morning
2. Make a gratitude list of 10 things you are grateful
3. Reach out call another recovering addict
4. Go to a meeting
5. Pray at night to your HP

As of today:

  1. I prayed to my HP this morning.
  2. What I’m grateful for:
    1. That the pain from surgery is not whelming. Not yet anyway.
    2. I’m grateful that I didn’t drink or use from being in a not-supporting environment.
    3. I’m grateful that I was able to make up a mental health appointment I missed today.
    4. I’m appreciative that I live in an era of technology that makes meeting possible.
    5. I’m grateful that this era of technology allows me to organize online in political causes.
    6. I’m happy that, despite having a wound as it heals, I’m still flexible and mobile.
    7. I’m grateful for the phone numbers of recovered addicts that I was given for future support.
    8. I’m grateful I still have my mind intact, that I can write, I can game, and I can think.
    9. I’m grateful for fucking water!
    10. I’m grateful for my free food services, otherwise I’d be starving or even more broke.
  3. I have gotten a few numbers, and I will do it after 8 am.
  4. I’d like to attend two virtual meetings later today, still.
  5. I plan to pray to my higher power at night, as I did last night.

Log, supplemental, 4/30/22:

I managed to attend two meetings, one virtual, one in person. I interacted with another fellow addict, though he initiated the contact. I’ll count that as the assigned interaction, however, next time I’ll initiate the contact. I did not pray to my HP last night, it’s evident that I will put an alarm to make sure that doesn’t happen again.